Music of the Americas presents the online world premiere of k’uKu, a composition for string quintet, percussion, voice, electronics, and video, with music by Pauchi Sasaki and video by Juan Carlos Yanaura, commissioned by Americas Society. Shot during the COVID-19 confinement in cities across the US and in Lima, the source video material is 3D scans made by the musicians with their phones in their homes and studios. These images become figures and environments that are in constant dialogue.

Commissioned by Americas Society, k’uKu (‘Unripe Fruit’ in Quechua) was originally conceived as a site-specific multimedia performance to take place in New York’s Central Park, and became a site-specific place for the virtual space created by Sasaki and Yanaura. Performers include members of the orchestral collective The Knights alongside percussionist Haruka Fujii and Sasaki herself on voice and electronics.


  • Pauchi Sasaki: composer, voice, electronics
  • Haruka Fujii: percussion
  • Juan Carlos Yanaura: video artist
  • Emily Daggett Smith: violin*
  • Nanae Iwata: violin*
  • Kyle Armbrust: viola*
  • Jane Cords-O’Hara: cello*
  • Logan Coale: bass*

*Musicians from The Knights

Audio description in English and Spanish provided by Art Spark Texas.

This performance is also supported, in part, by the National Endowment for the Arts.

Copyright © 2020 ASCOA / P.Sasaki / All Rights Reserved


Les Parapluies du 14ème
Walter Frisch
SEPTEMBER 25, 2023
Reimagining the Digital Code
MAY 16, 2023
A Man Contemplating his Life
MAY 11, 2023
Post-Civil War America and Anti-Asian Racism
MAY 5, 2023
The High Winds of Kerguelen
MARCH 10, 2023
Poetics of War
Library Chat - Nikita Grigorov and Ihor Mitrov
MARCH 6, 2023
The Curious Life of Objects
Natalka Bilotserkivets and Zoya Laktionova
MARCH 3, 2023
Dream Series: Episode 2
FEBRUARY 28, 2023
Falling Asleep
Dream Series: Episode 1
FEBRUARY 28, 2023
A Conversation on Typhoons
FEBRUARY 24, 2023
We use cookies to enhance your experience of visiting this website. Find out more.